Skip to product information
1 of 3


Portishead - Dummy (Import, Remastered, 180 Gram) (LP)

Portishead - Dummy (Import, Remastered, 180 Gram) (LP)

Regular price $40.36
Regular price $44.99 Sale price $40.36
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Note: Join the waiting list on out of stock items to be notified once available!

Out of stock

View full details
View Artist: Portishead

  |  UPC: 042282852212

Limited Edition import-only vinyl LP repressing of this album. 'Dummy' is the debut studio album by electronic band Portishead, released in 1994. The album won the 1995 Mercury Music Prize after receiving critical acclaim, and is often cited in the best albums of the '90s. The album includes songs such as 'Sour Times', 'Glory Box' and others.

Named for a town near Bristol, England, Portishead is a British dance band that grabs ideas from all over the mod pop world (spaghetti Western guitars, turntable scratching, melancholy soul vocals, atmospheric organs, house beats) and stirs them into spacey, dub-like productions that sound like a dance club in the middle of a "Twin Peaks" dream. You could call it surreal hip-hop pop. But if the beats on the band's debut album achieve a kind of trance-like static, the songs themselves reach for something more rousing. With understated lyrics and overstated melodies, singer Beth Gibbons and bandleader Geoff Barrow write insinuatingly melancholy dance ballads that ebb and flow like waves through rustling waters. Organs quaver in quiet tremolos, guitars emit squiggles and turntables hiccup, while Gibbons, in a high, cutting voice that evokes a less breathy Sinead O'Connor, sings songs of longing and heartbreak with equally palpable emotion.

Portishead: Beth Gibbons (vocals); Adrian Utley (guitar, Hammond organ, bass, Theremin); Geoff Barrow (Fender Rhodes piano, drums, programming).

Recorded at State Of The Art and Coach House Studios, Bristol, England.

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Released: 10/28/2004
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Remember, for our lowest prices, always order directly from our official JocoRecords website!



Mysterons 4:56
Sour Times 4:05
Strangers 3:49
It Could Be Sweet 4:10
Wandering Star 4:46
Numb 3:43
Roads 4:56
Pedestal 3:30
Biscuit 4:34
Glory Box 4:49
Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other media format. We do not sell used vinyl. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: Portishead

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
Must have album!

The combination of sounds/styles is great. Haunting vocals mixed with hip hop beats and jazzy guitar licks.