Skip to product information
1 of 1

Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney - Tug Of War (2 LP)

Paul McCartney - Tug Of War (2 LP)

Regular price $38.84
Regular price Sale price $38.84
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Note: Join the waiting list on out of stock items to be notified once available!

Out of stock

View full details
View Artist: Paul McCartney

  |  UPC: 888072375710

Like 1970's McCartney, 1980's McCartney II functioned as a way for Paul McCartney to clear the decks: to experiment and recalibrate in the aftermath of his band falling apart. This means 1982's Tug of War is, in many ways, the very first Paul McCartney solo album, a record recorded not at home but in a studio, a record made without Wings and not co-credited to Linda, who nevertheless is present as a backing vocalist. McCartney recognized this album as something of a major opportunity, so he revived his relationship with Beatles producer George Martin and brought in several heavy-hitters as guests, including his hero Carl Perkins, his Motown counterpart Stevie Wonder, fusion star Stanley Clarke, prog rock refugees Eric Stewart and Andy Mackay, and his old bandmate Ringo Starr, whose presence was overshadowed by "Here Today," an elegy written for the murdered John Lennon. Tucked away at the end of the first side, "Here Today" is bittersweet and small when compared to all the show pieces elbowing each other for attention throughout Tug of War: the grave march of the title track, the vaudevillian "Ballroom Dancing," the stately drama of "Wanderlust," and sincere schmaltz of "Ebony and Ivory," the Wonder duet that helped turn this album into the blockbuster it was intended to be. As good as some of these numbers are -- and they are, bearing an ambition and execution that outstrips latter-day Wings -- much of the charm of Tug of War lies in the excess around the edges, whether it's the rockabilly lark of the Perkins duet "Get It," the later-period Beatles whimsy of '"The Pound Is Sinking," the electro-throwaway "Dress Me Up as a Robber," or the long, electro-funk workout of "What's That You're Doing?," a track that's a fuller collaboration between Paul and Stevie than "Ebony and Ivory." Such crowd-pleasing genre-hopping finds its apotheosis on "Take It Away," a salute to eager performers and the crowds who love them, which means it summarizes not only the appeal of Tug of War in general -- it is, by design, a record that gives the people old Beatle Paul -- but McCartney in general. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Personnel: Paul McCartney (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, bass, drums); Carl Perkins (vocals, guitar); Stevie Wonder (vocals, synthesizer); Peter Marshall (spoken vocals); Denny Laine, Eric Stewart (guitar); Jack Rothstein, Bernard Partridge (violin); Ian Jewel (viola); Keith Harvey (cello); Adrian Brett (pan pipes); Jack Brymer (clarinet); George Martin (piano); Andy Mackay (lyricon); Stanley Clarke (bass); Steve Gadd, Ringo Starr, Adrian Sheppard, Dave Mattacks (drums); Campbell Maloney (percussion); Linda McCartney (background vocals).

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock, Pop

Track Listing:

Remixed Album
A1 Tug Of War
A2 Take It Away
A3 Somebody Who Cares
A4 What's That You're Doing?
A5 Here Today
B1 Ballroom Dancing
B2 The Pound Is Sinking
B3 Wanderlust
B4 Get It
B5 Be What You See (Link)
B6 Dress Me Up As A Robber
B7 Ebony And Ivory
Bonus Audio
C1 Stop, You Don't Know Where She Came From (Demo)
C2 Wanderlust (Demo)
C3 Ballroom Dancing (Demo)
C4 Take It Away (Demo)
C5 The Pound Is Sinking (Demo)
C6 Something That Don't Happen (Demo)
D1 Ebony And Ivory (Demo)
D2 Dress Me Up As A Robber / Robber Riff (Demo)
D3 Ebony And Ivory (Solo Version)
D4 Rainclouds
D5 I'll Give You A Ring

Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other media format. We do not sell used vinyl. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: Paul McCartney

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review