Skip to product information
1 of 1


Funkadelic - Standing On The Verge: The Best Of Funkadelic (UK) (2 LP)

Funkadelic - Standing On The Verge: The Best Of Funkadelic (UK) (2 LP)

Regular price $25.65
Regular price Sale price $25.65
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ships in 1-2 Business Days!

Low stock: 1 left

View full details
View Artist: Funkadelic
SKU: 94U1MF-TY12-00

  |  UPC: 029667715119

Funkadelic's 1974 release STANDING ON THE VERGE OF GETTING IT ON proved to be a continuation of the more consolidated direction laid down on its predecessor, COSMIC SLOP. But STANDING is the better and stronger album, and easily Funkadelic's most consistent work since the classic MAGGOT BRAIN. Even though the band's members were, at the time, doing double duty in the more commercially oriented Parliament, Funkadelic maintained its complete allegiance here to wildly experimental, rock-influenced music.

The album begins with a lighthearted poem read by two band members, their voices sped up to sound like The Chipmunks. This leads directly into the vicious funk-rock of "Red Hot Mama" and the absolutely raging rocker, "Alice In My Fantasies." The mood calms down briefly for the soulful "I'll Stay" and the playful pop of "Sexy Ways." There are jazzy moments ("Jimmy's Got A Little Bit Of Bitch In Him"), and meditative instrumentals ("Good Thoughts, Bad Thoughts"), but the topper is the title track, a manically exuberant jam that still ranks among P-funk's greatest moments.

  • Format: Vinyl, 2 LP
  • Genre: Funk/Soul

Track Listing:

A1 Cosmic Slop
A2 Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On
A3 You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure
A4 One Nation Under A Groove Pt1
A5 Better By The Pound
A6 Sexy Ways
B1 Loose Booty
B2 (Not Just) Knee Deep Pt1
B3 A Joyful Process
B4 Whatever Makes My Baby Feel Good
B5 Can You Get To That
C1 Maggot Brain
C2 I Wanna Know If It's Good To You
C3 I'll Bet You
C4 Hit It And Quit It
D1 Red Hot Mama
D2 I Got A Thing, You Got A Thing, Everybody Got A Thing
D3 Comin' Around The Mountain
D4 Let's Take It To The Stage
D5 Undisco Kidd

Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other media format. We do not sell used vinyl. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: Funkadelic

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review