Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Bowie

David Bowie - Lodger (Remastered, 180 Gram) (LP)

David Bowie - Lodger (Remastered, 180 Gram) (LP)

Regular price $23.40
Regular price $25.99 Sale price $23.40
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

26 in stock


  |  UPC: 190295842673

View Artist: David Bowie

View full details
Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...

LODGER (1979) was third in Bowie's Berlin trilogy, his collaboration with legendary producer/experimentalist Brian Eno, which began with HEROES and LOW (both released in 1977). While those dark records were heavy on alien-sounding instrumentals, LODGER had none, and even contained songs that seemed relatively straightforward. Considered inaccessible at the time, LODGER now sounds like a classic, transitional Bowie album, if only for its rich spirit of experimentation. From the Middle Eastern strains of "Yassassin" to the bizarre wordplay of "African Night Flight," LODGER feels like a journey through strange lands.

Songs like "Boys Keep Swinging" (later covered by ex-Bangle Susanna Hoffs) and "DJ" have the structure of traditional rock songs, but the odd textures, rough edges and dissonant elements make them into something richer and stranger. "Look Back in Anger," with fierce guitar playing by Adrian Belew, became a staple of Bowie's live concerts for years to come. "Red Money" is Bowie's adaptation of Iggy Pop's decadent, futuristic "Sister Midnight" from THE IDIOT. The anthemic "Red Sails" (co-written with Eno) has a majestic sense of forward motion, its glorious crescendo and fadeout providing the record's most spine-tingling moments.

Personnel: David Bowie (vocals, guitar, piano, Chamberlain, synthesizer); Tony Visconti (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Adrian Belew (guitar, mandolin); Brian Eno (guitar, trumpet, horn, piano, synthesizer, sound effects); Carlos Alomar (guitar); Simon House (mandolin, violin); Stan (saxophone); Sean Mays (piano); Roger Powell (synthesizer); George Murray (bass); Dennis Davis (percussion).

Recorded at Mountain Studios, Montreaux, Switzerland.
Digitally remastered by Peter Mew and Nigel Reeve (1999, Abbey Road Studios, London, England).

  • Released: 02/23/2018
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock, Electronic, Pop

Track Listing:

Disc: 1
1. Fantastic Voyage
2. African Night Flight
3. Move On
4. Yassassin (Turkish For: Long Live)
5. Red Sails

Disc: 2
1. D.J.
2. Look Back in Anger
3. Boys Keep Swinging
4. Repetition
5. Red Money


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other format. We do not sell any used vinyl on our website. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: David Bowie

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review