Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Bowie

David Bowie - Legacy (Limited Edition, Includes Prints, Gatefold, 180 Gram) (2 LP)

David Bowie - Legacy (Limited Edition, Includes Prints, Gatefold, 180 Gram) (2 LP)

Regular price $37.35
Regular price $43.99 Sale price $37.35
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Out of stock


  |  UPC: 889853765812

View Artist: David Bowie

View full details
Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...

Double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket (20 tracks). Pressed on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl. Includes 2x12" prints. Gatefold sleeve.

Legacy collects together some of David Bowie's finest singles from his first hit, 1969's 'Space Oddity' through to his final recordings like 'Lazarus'. Features a previously unreleased version of the classic 1971 single 'Life On Mars?' mixed by it's original producer Ken Scott. Also includes the single versions of "Let's Dance," "Ashes to Ashes," "Starman," "The Jean Genie," "Golden Years," "China Girl," "Heroes" and more. David Bowie was an influential figure in popular music for over five decades, regarded by critics and musicians as an innovator, particularly for his work in the 1970s. His career was marked by reinvention and visual presentation, his music and stagecraft significantly influencing popular music. During his lifetime, his record sales, estimated at 140 million worldwide, made him one of the world's best-selling music artists.

Not the first posthumous compilation from David Bowie -- that would be the lavish box Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976), which was planned prior to his January 10, 2016 death -- Legacy is nevertheless the first designed with his, well, legacy in mind. That much can be gleaned from the title of the compilation, but that's a bit of a feint since this set essentially repackages the simplest incarnation of a previous Bowie hits compilation, 2014's Nothing Has Changed. Legacy is available as a single and a double-disc, both carrying sequencings that mirror those on Nothing Has Changed (and both featuring a new mix of "Life on Mars?"). On the single disc, the first 12 songs are the same, then the back sequence is different, discarding "Absolute Beginners" and "Hallo Spaceboy" and concluding with "Where Are We Now?" and "Lazarus." Similarly, the double-disc has a nearly identical sequencing on its first disc -- "Ashes to Ashes" and "Fashion" are swapped -- with the differences arriving in the comp's final six songs, so Heathen's "Everyone Says Hi" is here, and this concludes with "Lazarus" and "I Can't Give Everything Away." In both cases, the Legacy sequencing is slightly better than that on Nothing Has Changed, since it winds up ending on the elegiac note that Bowie gave Blackstar. Still, it's splitting hairs: the 2016 and 2014 compilations are similar to each other, and they're also similar to the many Bowie comps that came before, and they're all just as likely to satisfy and pique interest. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Rock
  • Released: 01/06/2017


A1 David Bowie Let's Dance 4:08
A2 David Bowie Ashes To Ashes 3:35
A3 Queen, David Bowie Under Pressure 4:04
A4 David Bowie Life On Mars? (2016 Mix) 3:37
A5 David Bowie Changes 3:35
B1 David Bowie The Man Who Sold The World 3:56
B2 David Bowie Space Oddity 5:12
B3 David Bowie Starman 4:12
B4 David Bowie Ziggy Stardust 3:12
B5 David Bowie The Jean Genie 4:05
C1 David Bowie Rebel Rebel 4:30
C2 David Bowie Young Americans 3:13
C3 David Bowie Golden Years 3:27
C4 David Bowie Modern Love 3:56
C5 David Bowie China Girl 4:15
D1 David Bowie Fame 4:15
D2 David Bowie Sound And Vision 3:03
D3 David Bowie 'Heroes' 3:33
D4 David Bowie Where Are We Now? 4:09
D5 David Bowie Lazarus 4:05


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other format. We do not sell any used vinyl on our website. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: David Bowie

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review