Skip to product information
1 of 1

Curtis Mayfield

Curtis Mayfield - Superfly (The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2 LP)

Curtis Mayfield - Superfly (The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2 LP)

Regular price $38.07
Regular price $40.99 Sale price $38.07
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Low stock: 3 left


  |  UPC: 081227881511

View Artist: Curtis Mayfield

View full details
Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...

Super Fly is the thirdstudio albumby American soul musicianCurtis Mayfield, released in July 1972 on Curtom Records. It was released as thesoundtrackfor theBlaxploitationfilm of the same name. Widely considered a classic of 1970s soul and funk music,Super Flywas a nearly immediate hit. Its sales were bolstered by two million-selling singles, "Freddie's Dead" (number 2 R&B charts, number 4 Pop charts) and thetitle track(number 5 R&B, number 8 Pop).Super Fly is one of the few soundtracks to out-gross the film it accompanied.Super Fly, along withMarvin Gaye'sWhat's Going On(1971), was one of the pioneering soul concept albums, with its then-unique socially aware lyrics aboutpovertyanddrug abusemaking the album stand out.The film and the soundtrack may be perceived as dissonant, sincethe filmholds rather ambiguous views ondrug dealers, whereasCurtis Mayfield's position is far more critical. LikeWhat's Going On, the album was a surprise hit that record executives felt had little chance at significant sales. Due to its success, Mayfield was tapped for several film soundtracks over the course of the decade.In 2003,VH1namedSuper Flythe 63rd greatest album of all time. The title track was selected by theRock and Roll Hall of Fameas one of the "500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll. In 2003, the album was ranked number 69 onRolling Stonemagazine's list ofthe 500 greatest albums of all time. The album is ranked number 986 inAll-Time Top 1000 Albums.  In 2019, the album was selected by theLibrary of Congressfor preservation in theNational Recording Registryfor being "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" This 2LP 50th anniversary edition expands the album with a bonus disc of demos and also includes a movie poster, new liner notes, never before seen photos and a custom turn table mat exclusive to this limited release. 


Track Listings

Disc: 1

1 Little Child Runnin' Wild
2 Pusherman
3 Freddie's Dead
4 Junkie Chase (Instrumental)

Disc: 2

1 Give Me Your Love (Love Song)
2 Eddie You Should Know Better
3 No Thing on Me (Cocaine Song)
4 Think (Instrumental)
5 Superfly

Disc: 3

1 Freddie's Dead (Theme From 'Superfly') [Single Mix]
2 Superfly (Single Mix Version)
3 Ghetto Child (Demo Version of 'Little Child Runnin' Wild')
4 Pusherman (Alternate Mix With Horns)
5 Freddie's Dead (Theme From 'Superfly')

Disc: 4

1 Junkie Chase (Instrumental Full Length Version)
2 No Thing on Me (Cocaine Song) [Instrumental, Film Score Version]
3 Militant March
4 Eddie You Should Know Better (Instrumental, Film Score Version)
5 Radio Spot (#1)
6 Underground (Superfly-esque Demo Version, 1970)
7 Check out Your Mind (Instrumental Studio Jam)
8 Radio Spot
  • Format: Vinyl


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other format. We do not sell any used vinyl on our website. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: Curtis Mayfield

Product Tags: In-stock, New, Vinyl

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review