Skip to product information
1 of 2

Cage The Elephant

Cage The Elephant - Unpeeled (140 Gram) (2 LP)

Cage The Elephant - Unpeeled (140 Gram) (2 LP)

Regular price $28.56
Regular price $30.99 Sale price $28.56
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ships in 1-2 Business Days!

Low stock: 4 left

View full details
View Artist: Cage The Elephant

  |  UPC: 889854281915

Double 140gm vinyl LP pressing. 2017 live release from the Grammy-winning alt-rock band. Unpeeled was recorded over a series of intimate shows in cities including Los Angeles, Washington DC, Knoxville, and Nashville where the band performed in a stripped down arrangement with a string quartet and additional percussion. Unpeeled features twenty-one tracks: eighteen curated songs from their past four albums plus three re-imagined versions of existing songs. Cage the Elephant received their first Grammy Award for Best Rock Album for their fourth studio album, Tell Me I'm Pretty, which was produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys. At radio, Cage the Elephant holds the record for the most #1 Alternative songs of any artist this decade. Long celebrated as one of the most explosive live bands in the world, Cage the Elephant have sold out several headlining runs including a summer 2016 arena tour and recent sold out UK and European tour.

Since the late 2000s, American-born, London-based alt-rock outfit Cage the Elephant have had a prolific output of material that has traversed an eclectic array of style and sound; initially delivering accessible pop song structures laden with bluesy, punk-infused vocals and guitar work alongside a somewhat defiant Iggy Pop-esque attitude, the band eventually arrived at a more psychedelic sound with its 2015 effort, Tell Me I'm Pretty. The latter proved to be more akin to the bright hedonism and transparent honesty, identifiably representative of Jim Morrison and the Doors, all packed into a sleek production package, albeit not shy of the grit and fuzz of the garage rock aesthetic, harnessed by producer Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys. Here, Cage the Elephant present their second live record, aptly entitled Unpeeled, a 21-track belter of stripped-back, alternate versions of popular cuts from their back catalog, without losing any of the aforementioned grit or attitude. Consisting of live recordings from various venues across the States in support of Tell Me I'm Pretty, a lot of it hardly sounds live at all (in the best sense); the band's performances are tight, unwavering, and flawless in their execution. Unpeeled is a long live album, but the band manages to arrest the listener by taking twists and turns in each song performance. It's a consistently good listen, although there are of course highlights; tracks such as "Punchin' Bag," "Trouble," and "Shake Me Down" are concrete reminders of the group's penchant for lyrical storytelling and affinity for hooks and melody, powerfully translated here with an organic setup. A lot of moments also bring to mind some of the techniques used on the Beatles' Revolver, with prominent and effective use of what sounds like live double-tracking and tape delay. The last third of the record shines the best; live favorite "Come a Little Closer" is punctuated with a beautifully rich and resonant string accompaniment, while penultimate track "Cigarette Daydreams" begins with Matt Shultz filling up the venue with his howling vocals atop a sonorous lone acoustic guitar before the rest of ensemble comes in; pronounced, tightly wound snares and kick drum carry the rest of the song alongside forlorn strings and piano, before a skin-crawling middle-eight section in which the audience sings the song's main refrain ("You can drive all night/Looking for the answers in the pouring rain...") in magical unison. The album ends with Thank You, Happy Birthday closer "Right Before My Eyes" -- one last chance for a sorrowful yet warm performance, enriched with more strings, reverb, and Shultz's pained voice echoing out into the darkness. Unpeeled is a great live album that not only encapsulates Cage the Elephant's ability to honor, reference, and tribute the sonic feel of Zeitgeists past, but ultimately reminds you that all it takes is a simple song with minimal instrumentation about introspection, yearning, or internal struggles to still achieve a huge, soaring sound that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. ~ Rob Wacey

  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Alternative Rock



A1 Cry Baby
A2 Whole Wide World
A3 Sweetie Little Jean
A4 Spiderhead
A5 Take It or Leave It
B1 Too Late To Say Goodbye
B2 Punchin' Bag
B3 Shake Me Down
B4 Telescope
B5 Instant Crush
C1 Trouble
C2 Ain't No Rest for the Wicked
C3 Rubber Ball
C4 Aberdeen
C5 Golden Brown
C6 Cold Cold Cold
D1 How Are You True
D2 Come a Little Closer
D3 Back Against the Wall
D4 Cigarette Daydreams
D5 Right Before My Eyes
Carbon-neutral shipping with Shopify Planet
Carbon-neutral shipping on all orders
shipping emissions removed
That's like...
miles driven by an average gasoline-powered car
We fund innovations in...


ALL albums listed on our website are 100% brand new and sealed. We only sell vinyl, and no other media format. We do not sell used vinyl. We also use industry-leading packaging to prevent damage during shipping. Shipping insurance is optional at checkout but is still highly recommended. Please Read our shipping and returns policy if you have any further questions.

We work hard to keep as many albums in stock as we possibly can. However, if the desired item is currently out of stock, we highly recommend joining the waitlist by entering your email address or phone number on this page. By doing this, we can notify you the second the item is back in stock. We will never spam or sell your information. :) 

Meta Artist: Cage The Elephant