The Postal Service

Give Up – Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition – (3 LP)


or 4 installments of $12.50 by Afterpay More info

Postal Service – Give Up – Deluxe – 10-Year Anniversary Re-issue

  • Contains a bonus six track EP with the b-sides of both commercially available Postal Service CD singles. Also includes covers by The Shins and Iron & Wine as well as the remixes from “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” single.
  • Vinyl (x3 LP) – Deluxe – Limited Copies

Only 1 left in stock

Purchase this album now and earn 50 Points!

GTIN (UPC): 098787104516 SKU: JMC-098787104516 Categories: , Tag:


You can spend all the time and money in the world trying to craft the perfect pop-music scenario, but sometimes the stars have to align all by themselves. Even though early on the members of The Postal Service jokingly referred to Such Great Heights as “the hit” on their debut album, Give Up, there’s no way anyone could have predicted the eventual impact made by a mail-order album designed in a pair of West Coast bedrooms.

It’s been 10 years since the little project that could from Seattelite Ben Gibbard (aka Death Cab For Cutie’s frontman) and Angeleno Jimmy Tamborello (Dntel, Figurine) emerged from seemingly nowhere and began to burrow into the ears of anyone who came into contact with the band’s infectious electro-pop. To celebrate, Sub Pop is reissuing The Postal Service’s sole album, and including in the multi-disc set 15 bonus tracks, including two brand new songs, “A Tattered Line of String” and “Turn Around.” On top of that, the band is back together: The Postal Service will hit the road for a long-overdue victory lap, giving most fans their first (and last—seriously, don’t ask) chance to see the group in person.

Of course, the band’s music was more than just electro-pop, and the force with which Jimmy and Ben captured the indie-rock zeitgeist of the early aughts made them more of a phenomenon than just a regular old band. That such artists as Ben Folds, Amanda Palmer, Streetlight Manifesto, and Confide have covered “Such Great Heights” is a testament to both the song’s magical spark and its melodic inclusivity. The band’s sound is such a touchstone that “Postal Service-esque” has become a generally accepted musical adjective. And it goes way beyond Owl City.

While it was impossible to anticipate how massive Give Up would become, it was obvious in 2003 that these guys had made something special. Ten years on it’s amazing to know that so many people have come to agree.

Track List:

  1. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
  2. Such Great Heights
  3. Sleeping in
  4. Nothing Better
  5. Recycled Air
  6. Clark Gable
  7. We Will Become Silhouettes
  8. This Place Is a Prison
  9. Brand New Colony
  10. Natural Anthem
  11. Turn Around
  12. A Tattered Line of String
  13. Be Still My Heart
  14. There S Never Enough Time
  15. Suddenly Everything Has Changed
  16. Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)
  17. Grow Old with Me
  18. Such Great Heights [John Tejada Remix]
  19. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight [DJ Downfall Persistent Beat Mix]
  20. Be Still My Heart [Nobody Remix]
  21. We Will Become Silhouettes [Matthew Dear Remix]
  22. Nothing Better [Styrofoam Remix]
  23. Recycled Air [Live on Kexp] [Live]
  24. We Will Become Silhouettes
  25. Such Great Heights

A side project from Death Cab For Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello, who formerly played with synth-poppers Figurine but now records as Dntel, the Postal Service creates bedroom electronica with surprising emotional pull on GIVE UP. Ten tracks lyrically convey both a youthful ennui and the nostalgic ache of longing. Tamborello creates a tense sonic space that allows Gibbard’s spare yet careful guitar to occasionally chime in and cut the tension. While Tamborello’s sculpted electronics hearken back to the minimalism of early Depeche Mode, Gibbard’s expressively fey vocals and emotional sentiments lend a warm, comforting contrast to the machine-age chilliness (as do the occasional backing vocals from Jen Wood and Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis). This contrast is best illustrated on “We Will Become Silhouettes,” when Gibbard sings “[A]nd we become silhouettes when our bodies finally go,” only to be followed by a string of optimistic bleeps that are the sonic equivalent of a miniature sky full of twinkling stars.

The Postal Service: Ben Gibbard (guitar, electric piano, keyboards, drums); Jimmy Tamborello (programming). Additional personnel: Jen Wood (vocals); Chris Walls (piano); Jenny Lewis (background vocals).

Additional information

Weight 39 oz
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Give Up – Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition – (3 LP)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.