Sale - 27% off!

Cold War Kids

Hold My Home (180 Gram, Includes Download) (LP)

$29.99 $21.75

or 4 installments of $5.44 by Afterpay More info

2014 album from Long Beach indie-rock fellas featuring ‘All This Could Be Yours’ & ‘Hotel Anywhere’. Cold War Kids Hold My Home on 180g Vinyl LP + Download.Hold My Home is the fifth studio album by American indie rock band Cold War Kids. It was released on October 21, 2014 under Downtown Records. Following the mild reception of their fourth album Dear Miss Lonelyhearts and the departure of original drummer Matt Aveiro, the band enlisted former Modest Mouse percussionist Joe Plummer and started work on their next project. Hold My Home has spawned two singles: “All This Could Be Yours” and “First”. The album was released to mixed reviews from music critics who argued over its production and songwriting. To promote the record, the band toured across North America.

Only 1 left in stock

Purchase this album now and earn 22 Points!

GTIN (UPC): 878037028140 SKU: JMC-878037028140 Categories: , Tag:


2014 album from Long Beach indie-rock fellas featuring ‘All This Could Be Yours’ & ‘Hotel Anywhere’. – On 180g Vinyl LP + Download

Ten years have come and gone since Cold War Kids first took to the stage in their homegrown Southern California scene. Time is typically unkind to indie rock bands. So how is that Cold War Kids are still here in 2014, selling out tours and releasing their fifth album in a decade amidst these 40 seasons of torrential fate winds, while so many of their peers have vanished? “We worked really fucking hard, that’s the answer,” says Nathan Willett. “We worked really hard and we were successful, which is freakishly impossible, and we should embrace it. That’s our story.”

From his post at the front, Willett – along with the band’s bassist and visual director Matt Maust – has led Cold War Kids through the tricky 21st century rock and roll landscape, soaring over the peaks and facing the valleys head-on while carving out a place of the band’s own. Reaping sky-high praise from a mid-2000s blogosphere then growing wings as a live show juggernaut, they stand now with their fifth studio album Hold My Home as both a different animal and an unaltered beast all at once.

The band wrote and recorded the album in their own San Pedro studio, with guitarist Dann Gallucci and Dear Miss Lonelyhearts collaborator Lars Stalfors at the production helm. It is at the same time a more pure and also more bombastic album than anything they have ever made, utilizing their environment, experience, energy and cohesion while still driving home the familiar Cold War Kids sound that has been honed and perfected over this past decade. “This record is a testament to some of my strengths – loving words and stories – but also getting out the other side and creating a fun song that is in the spirit of the band,” says Willett. “This fifth record is probably the most simple, in a way, since the first one.”


A1 All This Could Be Yours 3:08
A2 First 3:20
A3 Hot Coals 3:28
A4 Drive Desperate 4:10
A5 Hotel Anywhere 3:11
A6 Go Quitely 3:51
B1 Nights & Weekends 2:54
B2 Hold My Home 2:50
B3 Flower Drum Songs 3:37
B4 Harold Bloom 4:12
B5 Hear My Baby Call 4:51

Cold War Kids began as a four-piece of college friends but has undergone a couple of lineup changes in the past few years, from the fulltime addition of guitarist/producer Gallucci (Modest Mouse, Murder City Devils) to the departure of two original members, including most recently drummer Matt Aveiro. Replacing Aveiro on the album and on tour is seasoned veteran Joe Plummer (The Shins, Modest Mouse, Mister Heavenly), and also onboard is touring keyboardist/vocalist Matthew Schwartz. Willett admits the alterations, while not easy, have been for the best. “For a band getting past that several-year hump, everyone figures out their role or contributions and are either content or not. The idea of what we’re doing evolved. It was the right kind of work for Maust and for me. We’re on the same tip that way; we want to live this artistic life.”

By now, it’s clear that Cold War Kids starts and ends with Willett, Maust and Gallucci, the creative yin and yang and three-chambered heart of the band. Willett stars as reluctant leader, like Moses in the wilderness, the cerebral center and refined song-crafter, shouldering responsibility; Maust is the spontaneous punk rock locomotive, constantly pushing the group forward as the conducting engine of their artistic spirit; Gallucci, who worked for Cold War Kids doing live sound for three years before officially joining, has the wide experience, taste and encyclopedic knowledge of music to make it all click. (“No one knows the sound of this band better than Dann,” says Willett. “He’s opened many doors for us.”) Together, they are the perfect complement; to wit, when Willett and Maust formed the side-project French Style Furs last year, that experiment only brought more energy and ideas to Cold War Kids.

“French Style Furs showed us how fun it needs to be making a record,” says Willett. “And that sometimes you have to tear something off to create a new energy.” The rounding out of their main project’s lineup has created a dream team of sorts, hitting on all cylinders. As Willett says, “We have everything we need: hunger, energy, guys that come from bigger bands who know how things should work… There’s a lot of space for these guys as musicians to be creative, but we have our musical common ground in that we’re serving the song. As Maust understands about art, you elevate it to a place where it’s bigger than you and you serve it.”

Additional information

Weight 16 oz
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hold My Home (180 Gram, Includes Download) (LP)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.